About Us

ACCM is a medical accreditation body whose members (Commissioners) are senior medical educators, together with a lay member representing the public. They see their work as a contribution to the global effort to ensure quality medical education. ACCM serves countries which may not have a medical accreditation body of their own.

The Commission is independent of the countries it serves and of the schools it inspects and evaluates.

Chairperson: Dr. Hilary Sanfey
Vice-Chairperson: Prof. Sir Ian Gilmore
Hon. Secretary: Prof. David Croke
Treasurer: Prof. Michael Turner

The Commissioners

Emeritus Professor of Surgery, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, Springfield, Illinois.

Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist, Royal Liverpool Hospital. Hon. Professor of Medicine, University of Liverpool. Past President, Royal College of Physicians, United Kingdom.

Professor of Biochemistry, Director of Quality Enhancement, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Medical School, Dublin, Ireland.

Director UCD Centre for Human Reproduction, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Consultant Obstetrician/Gynaecologist, Coombe Women and Infants University Hospital, Dublin, Ireland.

Former hospital director, and previously Director of the European Health Management Association. Member, Irish National Research Ethics Committee (2021-present).

Former Consultant Nephrologist/Transplant Physician, National Renal and Transplantation Centre, Dublin. Past President, Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.

Professor of Medical Education at UCL and the President of the Medical Protection Society. Former Director of UCL Medical School in London and an Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist, at Whittington Health in London. Past president of the Royal College of Physicians

Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at SJH. Site Director, Global Brain Health Institute. Professor of Old Age Psychiatry, University of Dublin (Trinity College).

Full Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, UCD School of Medicine, Dublin, Ireland.

Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Royal Free Hospital, London, UK. Honorary Clinical Associate Professor, University College London.

Consultant Histopathologist at the Mater Private Hospital and Clinical Professor of Pathology at University College Dublin.

Lecturer in General Practice and Family Medicine, Family Medicine Practitioner, Dublin, Ireland

Associate Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School with a practice in general surgery and endocrine surgery. The MGH Department of Surgery Vice Chair of Education, Director of Medical Student Education and Surgical Education Research, and the Co-Director of the American College of Surgeons-accredited MGH Surgery Education Research and Simulation Fellowship program.