ACCM Accreditation Commission


ACCM is a medical accreditation body whose members (Commissioners) are respected senior medical educators who, with a former senior hospital manager, work voluntarily and pro bono publico. Their work is a contribution to the global effort to assure quality medical education. ACCM serves countries where the country has no medical accreditation body of its own. All Commissioners have signed a conflict of interest declaration upon joining ACCM. The Commission is independent of the countries it serves and of the schools it inspects and evaluates.

The Chairman is Professor John Donohoe

The  Hon.Secretary/Treasurer is Dr Anthony Peacock

The Commissioners

Philip Berman, MA, DipAdminSci(IPA), BA(Hons) Former Hospital Director, Strategy Advisor to the Irish Red Cross
John Brock-Utne, MA, MD, PhD, FFA(SA) Professor of Anaesthesia (Emeritus), Stanford University Medical Center, Stanford, California, District Director District 4, California Society of Anaesthesia and Council Member of Santa Clara California Medical Association
David T. Croke, MA, PhD, FRCPath Professor of Biochemistry, Director of Quality Enhancement
John Donohoe, MD, FRCPI, FRCP, FACP, FRACP, FRACP&S(Glasg) Former Consultant Nephrologist/Transplant Physician, Former Medical Director Division of Nephrology, National Renal and Transplantation Centre
Raymond Fitzgerald, MA, MD, FRCS, FRCSI, FRACS(Paeds), FRCSEd(Ad Hom) Emeritus Professor of Paediatric Surgery retired Consultant Paediatric Surgeon
Sir Ian Gilmore, MD, FRCP Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist, Hon. Professor of Medicine
Winifred Gorman, MD, FAAP, FRCPI, BSc(Physiol), Former Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, Lecturer in Neonatology
Estherann Grace, MD Associate Clinical Professor of Paediatrics, Harvard Medical School, Clinical Chief, The Division of Adolescent Medicine Boston Children's Hospital [retired], Senior Associate, The Division of Adolescent Medicine.
Brian Lawlor, MD, FRCPI, FRCPsych Professor of Old Age Psychiatry, Consultant Old Age Psychiatrist.  Deputy Co-Director Global Brain Institute
Clive Lee, MD, PhD, ScD, FRCSI, FRCSEd C Eng, FIEI, HRHA Professor of Anatomy.  Visiting Professor of Biomechanics
Eilis McGovern, MD, FRCSI, Dip Med Mgmt, DCH Chief Cardiothoracic Surgeon, Clinical Professor. National Director, National Doctors Training and Planning Unit, HSE Ireland.
Anthony Peacock, MD, FAAP Lecturer in General Practice and Family Medicine, Family Medicine Practitioner
Hilary Sanfey, MD, MHPE, FRCSI, FACS Professor of Surgery and Vice Chair for Educational Affairs, Department of Surgery, and Associate Director, Academy for Scholarship and Education, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine.
Michael Turner, MD MAO, FRCPI, FRCOG Director UCD Centre for Human Reproduction, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Consultant Obstetrician/Gynaecologist
back to top